top of page

Chapter 03 - The First Suspect.

Updated: Jun 8, 2019

Previously on Missing: Inara, a girl in her twenties has jumped off a skywalk after returning back from a void of two years to his ex boyfriend. No one knew about the last two years of her life except her, but she is no more. After talking to Inara's friends from NIFT, the police find various evidences and revelations including a suspect. Vinay, her ex-boyfriend. Are the girls conspiring against Vinay or are with him in this fight. Find out in the further chapters.


“Why didn’t you save me Vinay? Why didn’t you come on time? Look, I died because of you. Look at me Vinay. See, my face is distorted. They can’t recognize me. Tell them who I am. Please Vinay.”

“NO!!!!!! I did not kill you. I came for you Inara, I did. I did Inara,” tears flooded through my eyes. No matter what I do, she wouldn’t leave me. Her voice echoed in my ears. I was shivering feverishly.

“Why Vinay? Why? Don’t you love me? Has the last two years changed you to the extent that you can’t recognize me anymore? It’s me Vinay, Inara. Remember, how we used to go out on dates and how I bit you on your ears? I want to bite you again Vinay.”

“No!!”

“I’m coming Vinay.”

“No, please no!”

“I’m coming Vinay,” the voice grew louder and a wind blew through me.

Everything was quiet. The ticking of the clock rang bells in my ears. I looked at the watch. It was eight and I have been sitting here since morning. The bed is still undone and things are scattered all around. She will come again. I know she will. She will haunt me forever. “AAAHHHHH!!!” chills running down my spine and numb fingers added to the horrific atmosphere, only to make things worse.

My heart dropped down to my stomach as the doorbell rang. Once. Twice. Thrice.

“She’s here. She’s coming for me. No! I don’t want to go. No, I don’t want to go. I don’t want to go. I…don’t…want…to…”

Bang! The door smashed open.

“No! No! I didn’t do anything to you! I didn’t do anything.” Three men burst in. I could see their blur faces. One with a bold moustache, other two clean shaved. That is all I could make out before one of them came closer and flashed a torch on my face. The light stung my eyes so hard that I hid my face. Who were these men? I was terrorized. I could hear muffled voices around me and slowly everything faded.

It had been quite a while after daybreak they had untied me. From what I remember, I have been tied upside-down for the whole night. Yesterday, after I was knocked out, a police officer had poured a glass of water on my face to get me back to my senses. After we reached the station, I saw Inara’s mother howling in grief and his father was talking to a constable. We had never met before, but Inara had shown me their pictures. But, her dad …?

No sooner had we entered, than I was asked to sit on a table while the officers talked to Inara’s parents. I wish if I could tell her mother how much I loved her and that she had always talked to me about her problems and worries.

I should have come to them myself. How did they know about me? Did someone tell them? I scanned around for any familiar faces but saw none. Now they will suspect me, no matter how truthful I be. Should I tell them? Should I tell them that she had come to me yesterday itself? That I did not know about anything that happened in the last two years. I don’t know.

“Yes, sir. He is the one,” shouted Inara’s mother. “I remember Inara telling me about a boy who used to harass her and she used to be so tensed and worried, my daughter,” saying this, she broke down.

“I did not kill her! I did nothing! I know nothing that happened in the last two years! I am as oblivious about it as anyone in the room!” I yelled. I knew I had made a mistake when they pushed me into the jail and locked me. I yelled, shouted and cried about my innocence but no one lent me ears.

It was somewhere past midnight that an officer entered the cell with a chair.

“So, Vinay Saroj. No records of the past, no family, no friends except the owner of Durga stationary,” he said placing the chair in the middle of the room. I sat at one of the corners where there was least light. I amused myself on the irony that not only two days back it was Inara who loathed the light and now it is my turn.

“How do you manage with such loneliness? Don’t you get bored? Perhaps, it is the loneliness that caused you to abduct Inara after the fight that you had, isn’t it? And when she, somehow, was free from your captivity you ran behind her. And just as you found her, she was so terrified of you that she jumped off the skywalk.”

“I did not kidnap her! Neither did I kill her! These are all lies! A conspiracy against me!” I cried.

“You better lower your voice before talking to me Vinay or it won’t take long for me to pull out your tongue and tie a knot to it.”

“Sir! You need to see this. It’s urgent,” an officer called, as he scanned through some files.

The inspector walked out and they talked in soft voices. In those little hums I could make out a few words, but before I could make up a meaningful sentence out of it, the inspector burst in. Eyes wide and bloodshot, red face.

“You, scoundrel! You kidnap her and rape her for two long years!” he removed his belt. A hard hit of the belt and I yelled in agony.

“No! No sir, I didn’t.” I begged, but he didn’t stop.

“You destroyed a girl’s life! Bastard! You raped her for two years! Her uterus is totally damaged.” And with every line there was a hard strike on my back, my legs, my head and all over.

“No sir. Please believe me I didn’t sir. I didn’t. I Know nothing sir. She came to me few days back and at night someone attacked and she was gone…”

“Shut up, you arse! Stop making theories! I’ve seen you. You climbed up the stairs and ran towards her and that poor little girl was so terrified of you that she jumped! I saw it from my own eyes!”

And he kept abusing and hitting me until I was out of my senses. Next, when I opened my eyes, I was hanging upside down.

The inspector had called upon Yashwant. When he came to talk to me, I was in no state to talk or listen. At that point of time I had only three pictures in my mind. Inara, her mother and the inspector. After Yashwant left, two girls entered, I couldn’t recognize them through my blur sight, but their voices were familiar. They protested for my innocence before the adamant inspector replied.

“Please ma’am. Let us do our work. We know very well, who can do what. Please do not interfere in the investigation. You may leave.”

The inspector entered the cell with a fiber rod.

“Inara’s friends have identified you, Inara’s mother has filed an FIR against you, you were the first subject to be seen around the crime scene, your messed room and the marks on your throat give us an account to believe more into our theory. Oh yes! Another fascinating thing that we found is that your kitchen had everything else than a knife. Tell me what do you cut vegetables with? A fork? And if at all you had a knife, what would you use it for? To murder?”

“I’m telling you sir I did not do it. I have no knowledge about her kidnapping or the rape. She returned from nowhere two days back.”

“And what did she tell you?”

“Nothing. She chose to stay quiet and ignore all my questions. After we slept, someone attacked me and these marks are from that struggle. When I was conscious enough, I searched for her and when I finally found her, she jumped off the bridge. I did not know what to do so I stayed quiet at home.”

“Well, that’s a good story. Why don’t you confess the facts and accept the truth more than this story of yours and make things better and easier for all of us?”

“Sir, I’m telling the truth. That is what exactly happened that day.”

“I…Hate…Lies!” he said hitting me with the rod. It is then that it dawned upon me. Yes! He does have a motive to abduct her and torture her!

“Rajiv! Rajiv Chandra. Please get him. He might have a better story!”

“No more stories I am listening from you or anyone else. Enough is enough!” he yelled.

“Please sir, believe me, he does have a motive to kill her sir. Please.”

“And what makes you think I would listen to you anymore?”

“Because we’re the same, sir. Both of us, searching for a single person. The culprit.”


Read the next chapter:- The Second Suspect.

 

Checkout the links at the bottom of the page!

Do Share if you liked the third chapter.

Announcement: Due to a lot of request from everyone following the story chapters. I have decided to publish two chapters every week. One on Tuesday's and the other on Saturdays! Voila guys! Here we come!

Next Chapter on 4th June 2019.

Who is the new suspect here? Rajiv? What has he to say to the police? Is he a suspect or a potential evidence for the cops to further drain Vinay into the conspiracy? Find out more to the story on Tuesday 4th June 2019.


 

Poster credits:

In-frame: Reference from Pinterest.

Poster idea and edit: Rohan Basak.


Read other best stories by Rohan Basak


 

Browse and buy through the best collection of novels from below!

An exclusive offer for every reader!

Buy a book from any of the links below and you get insight to the whole story and a chance to win Sacred games book two for free!









64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page