top of page

Her- The Love of My Life.

How could I get so inclined towards her? Not that I couldn’t, but it was never in my will to do so.

You never plan to fall in love. It just happens, in the most unexpected circumstances.

In this short period, she had become a part of my soul. We were the pair you would yearn to witness from your own eyes. She was a fierce rain, shattering every window pane, and I was the ground she always wanted to land on. I could absorb all of her into all of me until the end of time. She had become the silver lining to my dark clouds. She gave me hope, that I can be happy, no matter how negative, people around me are. Just like the way a rose blossoms surpassing all the thorns on its stem, just like a cactus grows in a desert, just like a sapling grows, fighting its way through the pavement of asphalt, just to smile brightly at the sun.

It was she who made me smile, who made the sun brighter for me in the darkest of times. I never knew what it felt like to be in tears out of joy until I met her. She made it impossible for me to stop looking for her everywhere I went. Never had I felt such affection, such love, ever before. More than a ray of hope, she was a light-o’-love for me.

I was fond of her breath, her heartbeat, her each and every movement of her. Once, while she was sitting by my side, I managed to feel her heartbeat. I had, never before, heard such harmonic note! In those few seconds, I felt to have travelled the world, the trance ringing in my ear. For a moment, I felt as if my heart had caught up with her notes before I lost the track of it.

I was addicted, bewitched by the tranquility in her eyes. She had trapped me in her eyes. The day before, she lay on her stomach, as did I, facing each other, looking into each other’s eyes, searching for the darkest secrets. I found myself trapped in her gaze, in a whole new world. I never wanted to leave, such was her illusion! We held our gaze for a while and in that ephemeral time, I felt the universe collapse into one little thing. Her.

I had always wondered what would it feel like to have control over time. And now I know!

But then, things changed. I went looking for her when we didn’t meet for a week. I didn’t find her at the park, nor at the place where she usually sat. I went up to her place. The door was shut, but, my heart wouldn’t agree to it. I peered through the window; no sign of her in the room. I walked up to the main gate and I could feel her breath somewhere around. He fragrance had spread all over. Her aura filled the courtyard. I went up to the metal door and called out for her.

“Daisy!” And there she was! She responded in a voice you could never imagine. She ran towards the door. I wiped the tears off my eyes. Just as she was about to reach the door, she tripped. The door was locked so I couldn’t get in to see what had exactly happened.

I tried to have a closer look and the sight terrorized me. She managed to straighten herself and looked at me. Her eyes were moist. She had a leash tied around her neck. The chain from the leash only allowed me to have a glimpse of her until she made her way back to the corner and lay there. Her sharp stare threw daggers at me, invisible to the naked eye, that struck me right in the heart. She was speechless. I couldn’t do anything.

“I was helpless mumma,” I said, sobbing. My head on her lap. She stroked my hair.

“Didn’t I tell you Rohan? Don’t get so attached to her. Things will be tough when you part your ways and I knew it would be soon enough.”

A mother always knows, I thought to myself. She was right. We had to part ways.

After all, for how long could I play with someone else’s puppy. She had to go some day and the day has come. From this day, until the end of days, I will never forget her bark, her captivating eyes, the serene rhythmic sound of her heartbeat.

She was, is, and always will be a thing of joy forever and now, all her memories will last forever.


And now that you have seen her through my eyes, you will witness her through your own eyes and know that none of the above were only flattery. She is, indeed beautiful.



Alas! I don't have the pics from her childhood. But, I do assure you she was much more magnificent and fluffy and cute as a puppy. She's a grown adult now.






I still remember the joy of hearing her first bark! I was playing with her in my room and she was very happy. Wagging her tail and running behind me. I looked her in the eye as I said, "Bark Daisy! Wuff! Wuff!"

She tried but couldn't. She had never barked before. And after few more tries, there it was! The cutest call I had ever heard! She ran towards me after the success and licked me all around. That is one of the most happiest day I can ever recall.


She isn't around anymore, but, she visits some times. and those little moments spent with her give me the best joy anyone or anything can ever!

She really is a thing of beauty!


 

Do read other best stories:

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page