top of page

Loving Sarada

Updated: May 4, 2019



It has been ages since I saw you, it truly has. Seventy-two years! (Sighs)


Wonder how you look now. Do you have the same shining eyes? The same sunny face? Do you still have the loose bunch of hair that would never set back? Do you still curl it in your index finger before placing it carefully behind your ears?


I have changed considerably in the past years. I had changed a long time ago, when I was in prison. The bars transform you, they recast you into something raw; you become a new version of yourself.


Eight years, wasted, to save the land we rightfully owned. What way did I have? I had to join to rebellion with my father to save our land and wrest it from the feudal leaders.

It had hardly been eight months into our marriage before I had to leave. I don’t know if you would believe me if I said that I survived the eight years in prison with the memories of those eight months spent with you. Somewhere, in me, I had the hope, that some day when I am liberated from this earthy hell, I would meet you and we would remarry and start our life together, again.


No sooner was I granted freedom and fled home, than I found you gone, remarried to someone else, for the better good. I did not know what to do, I did not know how my mother survived all these years, alone, with his husband killed in prison and no report of his sons return. But, she did, and I thank heavens for that! She told me about the vicious MSP and their violent visits here. She told me, how she had to suffer the loss of a husband; a son; a house, after they burned it down as they were suspicious of our return; and a daughter in-law all in a row.


I decided not to dwell in my past but to start for the future ahead and remarried.


I have been welcomed by my in-laws a number of times, but, the way your family has treated me, was so different. The traditions are the same but the love your family showered on me is peerless.


In these seventy-two years, you haven’t changed to the slightest bit. Well, it’s not your fault that your hairs have grown grey. After all these years, your secret stares were as affectionate as they were.



I still love you Sarada, I really do. I know you do too. I knew it when your secret stares made my heart skip a beat and the way you shied when our eyes met.


I don't want to leave but I have to. You will always remain in my heart, until my last breath. Thank you for being my first love and wife. Thank you for everything Sarada.


Love, Narayanan Nambiar.


Sources:



 

Shop these amazing bags to save space and refrain children from messing your wardrobe.















 



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page