top of page

New Year's Eve

Updated: Apr 1, 2019




“I hope this is the last admission of the year. I hope no more parents have to come

here. I hope children don’t find their parents to be a burden on them.”

“I hope...”

“That is the grandchild I suppose, walking beside his grandfather. The parents are

inside making arrangements for him to stay here.”

“Humph... Another year passed by.”

‘Why can’t you stay with us nanu?’ asked the child innocently.

‘Your parents haven’t any place for me in their flat,’ his voice shuddered.

“This was the one sentence I had heard most often in my stay here. How can one

have no place for their own parents? Why do the children feel their parents to be

a burden more than a responsibility?”

“There’s this one quote that I have always loved “child is the father of the man”,

but, in this generation, there are only few who can actually be the ‘father of the

man'.”

“During springtime, parents do all they can for their lads, but, time changes as they

grow to be men.”

“Every passing year I find children come here with their parents, promising to come

and take them back once things settle down with them. I wonder, if their problem

never settle or is it the promise that falsifies. Every year I see mothers shed

tears in hope of their child’s return, father’s talk about their brave child who

changed to be a chicken as he grew. “

“Danny promised his return I said only one thing, ‘I don’t want those promises

which are forgotten by time. I don't want the materialistic love to be showered on me.

All I want is for you to be happy my child and if at all possible, do come to meet me,

any day when free, any hour when you feel lonely, any minute that troubles your

sleep. I’m here my child.”

“It may be the first time I saw him shed tears in front of me after his marriage. I knew

failsa happy one as I saw it.”

“I haven’t hoped for him return and take me back to his massive bungalow; never

ever have I hoped for him to send money orders for my survival here, but, he never


fails to do so. He visits me on all occasions. He never forgets my birthday. Wefails to do so. He visits me on all occasions. He never forgets my birthday. We

celebrate it together every year with my grandchild and my daughter in-law.”

“Here he is again, in this old age home coming towards me. My eyes are filled with

tears again.”

She runs towards her son and holds her tight and they have a wonderful day

together.


person coming in from the gate,” said the warden.ven recognizes me,” said the boy.

“She has been sick, all these years, she thought she had grown the best child and

that no other boy can do what Danny can do for her. When even after three years

his son did not visit her, she became crazy, she started seeing Danny in every other

person coming in from that gate,” said the warden.

“I got my lesson, I will behave well in front of my parents. I will never disrespect

them or leave them. After all these days, I know how it feels to be abandoned,

abandoned by someone you love the most.”

“Your parents have decided to teach you a lesson before they have to suffer what

she is going through. This was the last day. I know you have changed, I know you

won’t betray your parents and make untrue promises. I believe in you,” smiled the

warden.

Later that evening, the boys parents took him with them. The warden was happy

to see the change in him.

“If only I could teach him well enough! If only I could teach him the value of

parents!” the warden looked into the fire lit sky of the new years eve, tears in her

eyes.

“If only I could keep my resolution of not hoping his return!”

“If only...”



This New Year's Eve, let us make a resolution to respect our parents and value then for they are our greatest treasure.

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2k19!


 

Do read other best stories:



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page