top of page

Adam and Eve

Updated: Apr 1, 2019

“This, is my story. This, is the story of Adam and Eve.



People say we were the two godly entities created by the divine lord. “First came Adam, 'ha' as said by Bible “the man”. God introduced Adam to the beauty of nature and let him roam in the garden of Eden. Then, from Adam's ribs, God created an ezer kenegdo, 'helper corresponding to man’s and called it Ishsha, 'the woman' because she is formed from 'ish', the man.”

He created everything perfect for us to survive. He gave us food, and the shelter of trees, emancipated from life and death, from love and hate, from shame and fear.

He sent the two of us, to the garden of Eden, where we were allowed to eat any fruit we liked, sleep anywhere and do anything we wanted lest we ate the fruit from the tree of knowledge. I was sitting there, under the tree along with Eve, after the exhausting day at Eden, when something slithered past us. I didn’t know what it was, nor I bothered to. All I wanted to sit there and enjoy the moment of freedom. I was free from past, free from future, free from responsibilities.

The creature went past us and up on the tree of knowledge. Eve, out of curiosity followed it up to the tree.

‘What is your name lady? interrogated the creature.

'My name is Eve, but, what is a lady?

‘You, my girl are a lady.’

Eve did not say anything but stared at the long, creature with no hands and legs and which seemed to be void of any bones in it. It curled itself on one of the branches of the tree, it’s tail hanging down after three coils and tongue fluttering at regular intervals.

‘What creature are you? asked Eve.

'I am a snake.’

The two creatures stared into each other’s eyes.

‘Where you come from Eve?’

'I don’t know. God made me, out of Adam, to support him, to be with him.’

'Aren't you ashamed to stand naked in front of a man?’

'What is shame?’ Eve was intrigued to know more about this world and so she questioned, more than she should have. She asked about shame, she asked about love, she asked about friendship and she asked about jealousy.

Now, that she knew about love and hate, friendship and jealousy. She started envying the snake and asked her secret of all the knowledge in the world.

It felt hours of sleep under the shade when I woke up. I looked around for Eve, but couldn’t find her. I was hungry again. I went past the knowledge tree and saw her, sitting on a bench with few apples. I went up to her and sat on the bench. She offered some of the ripe apples and we ate them calmly on the bench. A sense of fulfillment filled in me and as I looked up at Eve, a sense of pleasure rose in me. It was something I had never felt until then, after meeting Eve. It was love. She looked at me and then scanned herself. She ran away from me. Then I looked at myself, I felt shame. Again, something I had never felt before. I looked around and the garden seemed to be a place I have lived forever. I knew everything here, all the trees, all the birds and everything else that my curious eyes went on.

I went to the knowledge tree and looked up at the fruits. Those were the same fruits that we had eaten. This was the same tree, we were forbidden to eat from. The Eden shivered and a bright light filled the visible universe around me and we heard a voice. The voice of God. He was angry; angry because we disobeyed him. He asked me and I passed the blame on Eve for it was she who had offered me the fruits in the first place. Eve passed the blame on the snake for it was the snake who lured her to eat those fruits.

God's anger shook the universe and he cursed us. First the snake to always be Ill-treated by man and woman; then Eve, forcing her the responsibility to marry a man and leave her family and always serve the man and act as a moral support even if she has to sacrifice herself; and then he cursed me of responsibilities of family and work forever and yet never feel contended. He gave me the everlasting desire for materialistic happiness that would make me work for ages without actually being happy. He placed guards at the gate of Eden so that they would never escape their fate.”

'This is how, my children, humans were formed, Adam from the Lord and Eve from Adam,’ said the grandma closing the ancient book of stories.

‘Now you had better slept than be late for school tomorrow' said the grandma. The two siblings, slept without any further ado.

‘No wonder how many times will I have to lie about the creation of man on Earth,’ she thought.

She was one of the last ones to know that Adam and Eve weren’t the first humans but two spaceships with people of other planet, the creature wasn't the snake but an alien world invading their planet. The curse wasn’t to suffer but was to forget who they actually were and to find a new place and a way to survive. The guard wasn’t someone to protect the garden but the black hole, beyond which, nothing exists. It is a gate to the other world which has been permanently shut. Only the most generous one’s knew the truth and have passed it through the generations and now it was time for everyone to know one universal truth.

The mankind does not know, that in the near future, they will meet the same fate as Adam and Eve did, they will travel to a different planet to save their life and will forget everything they ever knew, everything that ever existed, because they will fly through the black hole and on reaching their destination, they will create their own story of existence and the cycle will go on and on, forever.

After all, that was the true curse of the Lord for all men and women.


 

Do read other best stories:


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page